Nire let it slip in the rain


Stradbally 2-2 Nire 0-8:For the fourth time in a decade the Waterford senior football final between Stradbally and the Nire ended in stalemate at rain-lashed Fraher Field, Dungarvan, yesterday, with the sides set to return to the venue for next Saturday night’s replay under lights.

Nire will rue their defensive sloppiness that directly resulted in the concession of both of their goals. The first came in the 22nd minute when the Nire were unflatteringly leading by 0-4 to 0-1, with rangy corner forward Robert Ahearne finishing Ger Power’s centre to the net.

Shortly before that both Shane Walsh and Diarmuid Wall failed to convert close in frees in front of the Stradbally posts, and in the end those misses almost came back to haunt the Nire.

They were still good value for their 0-6 to 1-1 half- time lead, but when Ahearne goaled again within nine minutes of the restart Stradbally were in front for the one and only time in the game.

Amazingly, however, they failed to score again, and the closing 21 minutes yielded just one point, a Séamus Lawlor effort in the 55th minute.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.