Munster show their mettle to see off spirited Aberavon


British & Irish Cup Aberavon 14 Munster A 18:Reigning champions Munster look well set for the knockout stages after defeating a spirited Aberavon side.

Munster dominated large portions of the match but could not make their superior class tell on the scoreboard.

Captain Sean Dougall was content to have negotiated a potential minefield and preserve their four-point lead at the top. He said : “It was a dogfight but we dug in and took our chances when it mattered. We had trained well all week but we were not ruthless enough today.”

Dougall was part of a superb Munster backrow which consistently thwarted the Welshmen.

Dougall added: “Playing in Wales is never easy. We expected a tough crowd and got one. Some of the referee’s decision-making was frustrating but being a referee is a hard job!”

Slick backline

Munster scored a try in each half. At times, they threatened to run riot but a missed pass or a penalty disrupted their rhythm.  A slick backline move cut open the home-side to allow Ronan O’Mahony to canter over. JJ Hanrahan added the conversion and a penalty to send Munster into the break 10-3 up.

Munster started the second-half at a frenetic pace and Danny Barnes raced over for a try and Hanrahan added another penalty. Several off-the-ball scuffles and a dubious CJ Stander yellow card, galvanised the home team. Aberavon used their powerful pack to exert pressure. Munster’s defence was ferocious but a try and two penalties were conceded when down to 14 men. Munster weathered a late storm but deserved the victory.

ABERAVON RFC:P Bamsey, R Carter, R Thomas, W Price, R Thomas, C Evans, J Heatley, N White (J Tomlin-Reeves, 69), G Harvey (E Yardley,61), A Clatworthy, G Ronan (R Morris,59), S Williams (capt), B Thomas (Lee Purnell, 40), N Strong (Rowan Jenkins, 65), C Davies.

MUNSTER A:D Hurley, D Barnes, S Deasy, I Dineen, R O’Mahony, JJ Hanrahan (J Holland 78), C Sheridan, J Cronin, D Casey (N Scannel, 64), A Cotter (C Condon, 56), D Foley (B Hayes, 56), I Nagle, Dave O’Callaghan (R Murphy, 70), S Dougall, CJ Stander

Referee:Ross Campbell (England)

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.