Mulcahy's strike crucial for Kilmallock


LIMERICK SHC FINAL: Kilmallock 1-15 Adare 0-15:JAKE MULCAHYS goal 16 minutes into the second half, allied to two superb saves by goalkeeper Barry Hennessy, were crucial as Kilmallock won back the Limerick hurling championship. But they got a huge fright from rank outsiders, Adare, for whom Declan Hannon scored 11 points.

Mulcahys goal came when the sides were level at 0-11 each and they remained in front to the end, but in a tense finish Adare went close to drawing level and a huge long-range free by Declan Hannon was pushed over the bar by Barry Hennessy who had earlier made a superb save to deny Diarmuid Sexton a certain goal.

The sides were level three times in the first half at the end of which the wind-assisted Adare led, 0-8 to 0-6, with Hannon scoring seven of the Adare points, four from frees, including three from deep in his own half.

A superb point from a sideline by Jake Mulcahy immediately on the resumption cut the deficit before Adare opened up a three-point lead inside 10 minutes.

Kilmallock then struck a purple patch which started with Mulcahy’s goal and Adare went 13 minutes without a score.

Four minutes from the end only a goal separated them, 1-13 to 0-13, and in a dramatic finish Adare could not manage a goal.

Five of the Kilmallock forwards got on the scoresheet – the exception being Graeme Mulcahy, who scored 3-13 in the semi-final. But he was moved to midfield in the final quarter with Eoin Ryan switching to full forward which was a major influence in the win.

Goalkeeper Barry Hennessy, Gavin O’Mahony, Bryan O’Sullivan shone in defence with Paudie O’Brien and Robbie Egan were on top in midfield and scoring five points between them.

For Adare, Stephen Lavin, Wayne McNamara, Jody Hannon worked hard with Declan Hannon having a superb outing with 11 points.

KILMALLOCK:B Hennessy; L Hurley, M OLoughlin, K OMahony; L Walsh, G OMahony, B OSullivan; R Egan (0-2), P OBrien (0-3); J Mulcahy (1-1, point 65), P ODwyer (0-3), E Ryan (0-3, one free); G Mulcahy, K ODonnell (0-1), S ODonnell (0-2).

ADARE:S ODonoughue; J Lohan, M Clifford, S Lavin; R Kennedy, W McNamara (0-1), D Dillon; J Hannon, C Fitzgerald (0-1); J Fitzgibbon (0-1), D Hannon (0-11, six frees, one 65), A ORahilly; D Sheehan, P Keane, W Griffin (0-1, free). Sub: A O’Connell for Sheehan, D Sexton for O’Rahilly (both 29 mins).

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.