Kelly inspirational in Clare's success


Munster SH (Waterford Crystal) Cup Final Clare 1-21 Tipperary 1-13:Clare claimed the Waterford Crystal cup for the second time with a comfortable win at Semple Stadium on Saturday night.

The early exchanges were free-flowing with the sides level on four occasions in the first 10 minutes with Seadna Morey to the fore for Clare while Shane Bourke and Brian O’Meara were on the mark for a lively Tipp inside attack.

Tipperary struck for goal in the 13th minute with a flowing team move with Eoin Kelly, O’Meara and Bourke combining to set up Patrick Maher for a close-range finish.

The home side kept their noses in front through scores from Kelly and Bourke. But Clare slowly got on top with Domhnall O’Donovan and Patrick Donnellan taking over in defence while their forwards picked off good scores courtesy of the excellent Tony Kelly, Colin Ryan, Alan O’Neill, Enda Barrett and Fergal Lynch to help the visitors establish a 0-14 to 1-8 half time lead.

A much sharper Clare team extended their dominance in the second half with man of the match Tony Kelly bringing his personal tally to five points.

Shane O’Donnell’s goal in the 52nd minute ended the game as a contest.

Tipperary struggled to raise a gallop in the second half, scoring just five points, three coming from frees, while they also had corner back Conor O’Brien sent off for a second bookable offence in the 58th minute.

A vibrant Clare side pushed on to record a good victory which sets them up nicely for the start of the League when they host Waterford in Ennis.

CLARE: P Kelly; D O’Donovan, J McInerney, D McInerney; B Bugler, P Donnellan, P O’Connor; F Lynch (0-2), S Morey (0-2); C Ryan (0-9, seven frees, 1 65), T Kelly (0-5), E Barrett (0-1); P Collins, A O’Neill (0-1), S O’Donnell (1-1). Subs: P Duggan for Lynch (53); J Clancy for Collins (62); D O’Halloran for O’Donnell (64); L Markham for Barrett (66); D Honan for O’Neill (70+1).

TIPPERARY: B Cummins; D Maher, P Curran, C O’Brien; J McLoughney, T Stapleton, S Hennessy; S McGrath, N McGrath (0-1 free); J Forde, E Kelly (0-6, five frees), P Maher (1-0); B O’Meara (0-1), S Bourke (0-2), S Callanan (0-2, one free). Subs: J O’Brien (0-1) for O’Meara (ht); J Ryan for McLoughney (52); T Hammersley for Kelly (57); J Woodlock for Stapleton (62); J O’Neill for Curran (66 inj).

REFEREE: G O’Connell (Cork).

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.