Kaymer stays in as Lawrie wins


Golf:German Martin Kaymer today became the 10th man to qualify for Europe’s Ryder Cup team — without hitting a shot on the final day of qualifying. The former world number one controversially chose to miss the Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles, won by Scotland’s Paul Lawrie, even though his place was under threat.

But Nicolas Colsaerts failed to achieve the top-two finish he needed and must now wait to see if he receives a wild card from captain Jose Maria Olazabal. The 29-year-old Belgian is expected to be picked along with England’s Ian Poulter, who — like four years ago — could have made the team automatically by playing in Scotland.

All it would have taken to overtake Kaymer was a 35th-place finish, but Poulter elected to stay in America. Kaymer has not had a top-10 finish in a tournament since April and has been slowly slipping down the points table, but retains his place in the side.

He joins Rory McIlroy, Luke Donald, Lee Westwood, Justin Rose, Graeme McDowell, Lawrie, Francesco Molinari, Sergio Garcia and Peter Hanson. Lawrie won by four shots at Gleneagles.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.