Irish 2012 Olympic team honoured at awards night


BOXING:Katie Taylor and the Irish 2012 Olympic Team scooped some of the top awards at the Irish Amateur Boxing Association’s Annual Award Night at the Green Isle Hotel in Dublin last night.

Taylor, team captain Darren O’Neill, John Joe Nevin, Michael Conlon, Paddy Barnes and Adam Nolan, who represented Irish boxing at the London Olympiad, collected the Olympic Achievers Award.

Taylor, who won gold and the Best Female Boxer Award at London 2012, also took home the Boxer of the Year Award last night, while Barnes was presented with the Outstanding Achievement Award. Joe Ward, the current European champion, got the decision as Best Elite Boxer by virtue of winning the Boxer of the Tournament Award at the 2012 Irish Elite Championships earlier this year.

“The London Olympics will live long in the memory, said Irish head coach Billy Walsh, who will be made a freeman of his native Wexford in an official ceremony on Sunday.

“It was a fantastic year overall, especially the Olympic Games, and it marvellous to see our boxers honoured by their own people at our annual awards. They had a great year and the thoroughly deserve these awards.”

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.