Rory McIlroy drawn to meet Boo Weekley

Graeme McDowell will take on Gary Woodland at WGC Match Play in Tucson

 Graeme McDowell will meet Gary Woodland in the first round of the WGC Match Play in Arizona.

Graeme McDowell will meet Gary Woodland in the first round of the WGC Match Play in Arizona.


Rory McIlroy takes on Boo Weekley in the first round of the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship in Arizona which gets under way this week.

The 24-year-old, who lost out to eventual winner Hunter Mahan in the 2012 final, comes up against Weekley in a late-morning start on Wednesday.

Graeme McDowell will take on Gary Woodland while former winner Ian Poulter faces another American in Rickie Fowler to kick off the action.

Luke Donald, who won the event in 2011, faces Italian Matteo Manassero in the Player Division and fellow Englishman Lee Westwood — looking for his 40th career title — starts with an opening round against Harris English.

Former winner Henrik Stenson of Sweden, winner at the Gallery Golf Club in 2007, is due to take on Thailand’s Kiradech Aphibanrat just after noon.

Scotland’s Stephen Gallacher comes up against Ernie Els in one of the later matches of the day, while defending home champion Matt Kuchar takes on Austrian Bernd Wiesberger.

Jamie Donaldson of Wales tees off against Billy Horschel and Bubba Watson, who won the Northern Trust Open in California on Sunday by two shots, faces Finland’s Mikko Ilonen in an early start at the Golf Club at Dove Mountain.

First round draw (USA unless stated)

Henrik Stenson (Sweden) v Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Thailand)
Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa) v Nick Watney
Brandt Snedeker v David Lynn (England)
Webb Simpson v Thongchai Jaidee (Thailand)
Jason Day (Australia) v Thorbjorn Olesen (Denmark)
Jamie Donaldson (Wales) v Billy Horschel
Steve Stricker v George Coetzee (South Africa)
Graham DeLaet (Canada) v Patrick Reed
Justin Rose (England) v Scott Piercy
Ernie Els (South Africa) v Stephen Gallacher (Scotland)
Jason Dufner v Scott Stallings
Luke Donald (England) v Matteo Manassero (Italy)
Matt Kuchar v Bernd Wiesberger (Austria)
Ryan Moore v Joost Luiten (Netherlands)
Jordan Spieth v Pablo Larrazabal (Spain)
Thomas Bjorn (Denmark) v Francesco Molinari (Italy)
Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland) v Boo Weekley
Lee Westwood (England) v Harris English
Charl Schwartzel (South Africa) v Kevin Stadler
Jim Furyk v Chris Kirk
Sergio Garcia (Spain) v Marc Leishman (Australia)
Bill Haas v Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain)
Ian Poulter (England) v Rickie Fowler
Jimmy Walker v Branden Grace (South Africa)
Zach Johnson v Richard Sterne (South Africa)
Hunter Mahan v Gonzalo Fenz-Castano (Spain)
Graeme McDowell (Northern Ireland) v Gary Woodland
Hideki Matsuyama (Japan) v Martin Kaymer (Germany)
Dustin Johnson v Peter Hanson (Sweden)
Victor Dubuisson (France) v Kevin Streelman
Bubba Watson v Mikko Ilonen (Finland)
Keegan Bradley v Jonas Blixt (Sweden)

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.