Waterford’s late rally earns draw with Clare

Late points from Shane Aherne and a Paul Whyte equaliser deep into injury time forced a replay

Tommy Prendergast of Waterford with Gary Brennan of Clare at Cusack Park. Photograph: Mike Shaughnessy / Inpho

Tommy Prendergast of Waterford with Gary Brennan of Clare at Cusack Park. Photograph: Mike Shaughnessy / Inpho


Clare 2-8 Waterford 2-8

A determined finish by Waterford earned them a draw with Clare at Cusack Park on Saturday evening, in front of 1,767 spectators in a Munster Senior football championship quarter-final.

On 68 minutes the hosts enjoyed a 2-8 to 2-5 advantage but late points by Shane Aherne (twice), one from play and another from a placed ball, plus a Paul Whyte equaliser deep into injury time, forced a replay, which is fixed for Dungarvan next weekend.

Clare were in front at the break by 1-5 to 1-2, having played with the aid of a slight breeze.

Within 6 minutes of the throw-in, the Banner raced into a 1-1 to no score lead. David Tubridy opened the scoring with a pointed free in the third minute and Enda Coughlan first-timed to the net minutes later.

A pair of JJ Hutchinson points got Waterford off the mark eventually and a goal by Paul Whyte close to the half-time whistle kept them within reach.

In the second period, a goal for the visitors by Liam ó Lonáin levelled matters at 1-7 to 2-4 and when Tadhg Ó hUallacháin kicked a fine point the Decies lead for the first time in the game.

Clare struck back with a goal by Tubridy to regain the lead and in a frantic finish, Waterford eventually found the form to force a merited draw.


Clare: D Tubridy (1-3) 0-1 f, E Coughlan (1-0), S McGrath (0-2), M O’Leary (f), J Malone, G Brennan (0-1) each.

Waterford: P Whyte (1-2), L Ó Lonáin (1-0), JJ Hutchinson (0-2), S Aherne (0-2) 1 f, M Curry, T Ó hUllacháin (0-1) each.

Clare: J Hayes, D Ryan, K Harnett, M McMahon, S Hickey, G Kelly, C Russell, G Brennan (Capt.), S McGrath, J Malone, E Coughlan, S Collins, P Collins, D Tubridy, M O’Leary. Subs: S Brennan for Kelly B/C (31), R Donnelly for O’Leary (51), E Cleary for Malone (63), P McMahon for P Collins B/C (70).

Waterford: S Enright, S Briggs (Capt.), Maurice O’Gorman, T O’Gorman, C Phelan, D Crowley, O Keevers, P Whyte, T Prendergast T Ó’hUallacháin L Ó Lonáin , Michael O’Gorman, B Wall, S Aherne, JJ Hutchinson. Subs: M Curry for Hutchinson (42), D Allen for Wall (58), W Hutchinson for Briggs B/C (50), D Grey for Michael O’Gorman (56), D Hallinan for Keevers (60)

Referee: C Lane (Cork)

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.