Tipperary advance to semi-final against Clare

Points spree sees visitors home with ease

Tipperary’s Michael Quinlivan: scored two points

Tipperary’s Michael Quinlivan: scored two points


Tipperary 0-19
Waterford 2-3

Tipperary advanced to the Munster Under-21 Football semi-final against Clare following a facile victory over Waterford at a foggy Fraher Field last night.

Despite goals from David Hallihan and Ryan Donnelly, the hosts were completely outclassed by a Tipperary side which added 10 points to their first half total, having led by 0-9 by 1-0 at the break.

Tipperary built upon their handsome half-time advantage in the second period.

The visitors landing six shots between the uprights inside the opening quarter.

Sean Flynn opened the scoring with a free after 75 seconds, before Greg Henry doubled Tipperary’s advantage in the fourth minute. Full-forward Michael Quinlivan also pointed after another Fahey assist within a minute, while Josh Keane sent Tipp four clear after 10 minutes.

Quinlivan and John McGrath tagged on further points in the 10th and 12th minutes as Tipp dominated.

McGrath and Henry added further points in the 16th and 17th minutes before Waterford finally broke their duck in the 23rd minute when wing-forward Hallihan goaled after a sweeping move involving Brian Looby and Diarmuid Murphy.

Top scorer Greg Henry, one of Tipperary’s most impressive performers, had completed his side’s first-half scoring in the 21st minute.

WATERFORD: S Barron; B Looby, R Ó Ceallaigh, B Power; P Connors, B Phelan, D Foley; K Sheehan (0-2), S Keating; D Hallihan (1-0), D Murphy, M Curry; L O Corraoin, G Nugent (0-1f), M Troy. Subs: C Walsh for B Looby (30 mins), R Donnelly (1-0) for D Murphy (HT), C Sheridan for P Connors and P O’Connor for M Troy (both 42).

TIPPERARY: G Slattery; N O’Sullivan, C O’Sullivan; R Mulcahy, J Feehan, C O’Sullivan; R Mulcahy, S Kennedy, B Maher (0-1); S O’Brien (0-1), C O’Riordan; J McGrath (0-1), I Fahey (0-1), G Henry (0-4); J Keane (0-2), M Quinlivan (0-2), S Flynn (0-3, 0-2f). Subs: K Fahey (0-1) for R Mulcahy (20 mins), L McGrath (0-2) for M Quinlivan (21), L Casey (0-1)for S O’Brien (38), J Lonergan for J Keane (48), A Maguire for N O’Sullivan (52) and P Shanahan for S Flynn (57).
Referee: Sean Joy (Cork).

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.