Dublin eventually find the right gear and leave Cork trailing

Holders stage stunning second-half recovery, as 17-point turnaround yields decisive win

Bernard Brogan of Dublin gets away from  Cork’s Michael Shields during the National League semi-final at Croke Park. Photograph: Cathal Noonan/Inpho

Bernard Brogan of Dublin gets away from Cork’s Michael Shields during the National League semi-final at Croke Park. Photograph: Cathal Noonan/Inpho

Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 01:00

Dublin 2-20 Cork 2-13

Without fear of being accused of over-simplification – whatever about the charge of peddling a cliche – you could categorise this as “a game of two halves”.

The only quibble might be that whereas Dublin trailed by eight at half-time in the Allianz Football League Division One semi-final at Croke Park, it actually got worse for them in the opening minutes of the second half.

The salient detail though is that the All-Ireland champions and league holders finished so urgently that Cork trailed in a distant seven points behind – a margin that was expanding all the time until the referee’s final whistle brought proceedings to a close.

Shifting fortunes
If that doesn’t satisfy as a measure of the shifting fortunes, try this: Daniel Goulding kicked Cork 10 ahead, 2-11 to 0-7, in the 37th minute. During the match’s remaining 33 minutes, they were out-scored 0-2 to 2-13 – a 17-point turnaround.

This was the holders’ best display of the league and their highest score. Aside from satisfaction at taking another step towards retaining the first of their titles from last year, manager Jim Gavin was able to re-introduce two of his All Star forwards.

Paul Flynn started in one of the now familiar re-shuffles before the throw-in, and Bernard Brogan, back for his first appearance since last year’s All-Ireland in what was a productive 25 minutes or so during which he kicked five points.

So, having experimented with winning from the front a week previously against Tyrone, Dublin decided to sit well back and give themselves something to aim at.

Cork were one of the teams – final opponents Derry were the other – to have defeated Dublin in the regulation matches and under new manager Brian Cuthbert the need to replace a host of established names and introduce newcomers had been addressed so successfully that they topped Division One and showcased some exciting forward talent.

All of this was in evidence yesterday in the early stages after Paddy Andrews kicked Dublin ahead in the second minute.

Cork went to work with the in-form Brian Hurley toying with Jonny Cooper on the left and kicking an equaliser. Two goals and a point came tumbling within a minute.

Paul Kerrigan embarked on one of those blistering runs through the opposition defence and found Colm O’Neill loose on the inside.

O’Neill, who made his return from a third cruciate injury when the teams met last month with a cameo that decided the match, slammed a left-foot shot into the net and added a point almost immediately.

Hurley hung a dropping ball in on Stephen Cluxton’s goalmouth and Mark Collins beat the Dublin goalkeeper to the punch. Nicky Devereux helped it on its way as he scrambled back to cover the line. Six points up with seven minutes gone.

Dublin were on the rack. Cork allowed them largely uncontested short re-starts but were sharper and quicker, dispossessing and pouring forward as well as picking out well-judged passes into a rampant attack.

Afterwards Gavin wasn’t minded to criticise his defence, focusing instead on how easy Cork found it to set up attacking moves.

Exceptional kicking
Hurley was in clover, grazing five points with his exceptional kicking in the first half and leaving Rory O’Carroll at his wit’s end. As they steadily built the score Dublin were woefully ineffective at the other end. Flynn kicked a fourth point at the end of the first quarter to trail 0-4 to 2-5.

There followed shortly afterwards the sort of sequence that characterises teams that are out-of-tune. Five attacks in six minutes yielded nothing but fumbles, turnovers, a wide, one under-hit and so the dismal litany unfolded.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.