Cork Under-21 footballers ease past Limerick


Cork remain on course for a fourth successive Munster under-21 football title and their ninth in 11 years with a comfortable win at a misty Páirc Uí Rinn last night.

Three goals in a 10-minute burst highlighted Cork’s opening half’s superiority, with Mark Sugrue, Alan Cadogan and Dan MacEoin supplying the finishing touches.

The first came after nine minutes, when Sugrue’s powerful run took him past the defence before slamming home from close range. Cadogan pounced on a breaking ball for the second, six minutes later, before Seán Kiely and Cadogan combined for MacEoin’s 20th-minute effort.

Limerick did manage the closing two points of the half through a Danny Neville free and Mike Fitzgibbon from play.

Cork resumed where they left off on the resumption, Cadogan pointing inside 30 seconds and again in the 38th minute after a neat one-two with MacEoin. Limerick could only muster two more points in the half, their night reflected in Fitzgibbon’s late effort crashing against the crossbar on its way over.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.