Cavan remain on course for fourth title

Michael Argue stars from midfield


Cavan 3-10
Derry 0-12

Cavan remained on course for a fourth consecutive Ulster Under 21 Championship with a comfortable win over Derry at Celtic Park last night.

Cavan haired into an early lead when Joe Dillon lashed the ball to the net after Conor Madden’s point attempt came back off the upright.

The game was then delayed for almost 10 minutes following what looked like a serious injury to Derry corner-back Declan Brown but that didn’t derail the men in blue as points from Dillon and Paul Graham extended the lead.

A James Kearney free and a point from Brian Óg Magilligan got Derry off the mark but Cavan remained the better side and two scores from Michael Argue made it 1-4 to 0-2.

Derry responded with Anthony O’Neill scoring from a free and then play but Cavan hit back with a flowing move that saw Flanagan fire home Cavan’s second goal. James Kearney did manage another point for Derry but Argue’s third of the half sent Cavan in 2-5 to 0-5 ahead at the break.

Derry never looked like getting back into the game and any doubts about Cavan’s victory were removed when Paul Graham palmed the ball to an empty net on 49 minutes.

The game eventually petered out but with Argue imperious at midfield and Graham sharp in attack, a well drilled Cavan look well set to retain their provincial crown.

DERRY: S McNicholl; F Duffin, G McKinless, D Brown; C Carville, L McGoldrick, C McAtamney; B Óg McGilligan (0-1), N Rocks; J Kearney (0-5, 3f), C McFaul, E Duffy; T O’Brien, R Bell (0-2, 2f), A O’Neill(0-2, 1f). Subs: A Hargan for Brown (10), N McNicholl (0-1) for N Rocks (30), E Bradley (0-1, f) for Carville (42), R Moore for Duffy (56), P McGroogan for O’Neill (59).

CAVAN: J Farrelly; B Fortune, K Clarke, P Faulkner; G Smith, C Moynagh, D McVitty ; B Sankey, M Argue (0-4); P Graham (1-3), J Dillon (1-1), C Brady; C Madden (0-1), K Bouchier (0-1,f), E Flanagan (1-0). Subs: N O’Donnell for Madden (50), A Watson for Fortune (52), C Byrne for Bouchier (54), L Buchanan for Argue (57), E Hessin for O’Donnell (59), J McCabe for Smith (60).
Referee: M McNally (Monaghan).

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.