Cameras are brandished by both sides as water charge protesters gather outside the Labour Party conference in Killarney. Photograph: Cyril Byrne

The campaign against water charges has become the first popular protest in Ireland to make widespread use of social media – especially video channe(...)

The Local Election result has already cost Eamon Gilmore his role as Tánaiste and leader of the Labour Party.  Photograph; Dara Mac Donaill / The Irish Times

The Local Election result has already cost Eamon Gilmore his role as Tánaiste and leader of the Labour Party. An analysis of the results translated(...)

Peadar Toibin (centre), seen here beside Sinn Fein president Gerry Adams (right) and  Dessie Ellis, is to rejoin the party after a six-month suspension.

Meath West TD Peadar Toíbín is set to rejoin the Sinn Féin parliamentary party at the end of the month, ending his six month period in the wilderness (...)

Sinn Fein Meath West TD Peadar Toíbín who is to rejoin the party.

Meath West TD Peadar Toíbín is to rejoin the Sinn Fein parliamentary party almost following a six month suspension. Mr Toíbín lost the party whip in t(...)

 Colm Keaveney during a press briefing on the plinth of Leinster House on his joining Fianna Fáil. Photograph: Gareth Chaney/Collins

The defection of former Labour Party chairman Colm Keaveney to Fianna Fáil has led to strong divergences of views between his former party and his new(...)

Fianna Fáil has called on John Perry to clarify if he used his political position as Minister of State as leverage when dealing with banks  over his  personal financial difficulties.

Minister of State John Perry is facing growing political pressure to consider his position following the judgement obtained by Danske Bank in the Comm(...)

Anti-abortion campaigners maintain their protest last night outside Leinster House. Photograph: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Fianna Fáil allowed members a free vote on the legislation, and 14 members voted against:John Browne (Wexford)Dara Calleary (Mayo)Éamon Ó Cuív (Galway(...)

Sinn Fein Meath West TD Peadar T?ib?n

Sinn Féin TD Peadar Tóibín last night said he will vote against the Protection of Life During Pregnancy Bill when it comes before the Dáil. Mr (...)

Tom Hayes TD was appointed the new Minister of State at the Dept of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries, pictured at Government Buildings with An Taoiseach Enda Kenny TD, Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore and Minister for Agriculture, Food and Fisheries, Simon Coveney, TD. Photograph: Dara Mac Dónaill / The Irish Times

Two senior Labour Ministers have taken issue with claims by a newly appointed Fine Gael Minister of State that two key Government policy plans have(...)

Fianna Fáil candidate Thomas Byrne (right)  jokes  with Labour candidate Eoin Holmes with Meath Councillor Nick Killian (centre). Photograph: Barry Cronin

Every election campaign Thomas Byrne has been involved in has ended up with somebody getting bitten by a dog. It is usually him. In 2007, a hos(...)