Matt Cranitch: ‘In this trend towards globalisation of cultures, we need to look inwards as well, and look to the primary sources in terms of both the Sliabh Luachra repertoire and the style of playing’

It’s not so much a geographical location as a state of mind. That’s how writer Con Houlihan described Sliabh Luachra, a maelstrom of traditional mu(...)

Portumna’s Damien Hayes claims possession ahead of    Mount Leinster Rangers’ Richard Coady during the AIB All-Ireland Senior Club Final at Croke Park. Photograph:   Cathal Noonan/Inpho

Portumna (Galway) 0-19 Mount Leinster Rangers (Carlow) 0-11: A comfortable Portum(...)

Portumna’s Joe Canning is deadly from placed ball. Photograph: Ryan Byrne/Inpho.

Over 20 years ago the club football championship was enlivened by the presence of Carlow champions Éire Óg at the(...)

Declan Coyle and with his wife, Annette, and three children.

Declan Coyle, a former Columban missionary, who is now a married father of three children including a nine-year-old boy with severe disabilities, has (...)

Triumphant Mount Leinster Rangers corner forward Denis Murphy, scorer of eight points in Sunday’s GAA Hurling Senior Club Championship Final, celebrates after the game. Photograph: James Crombie/Inpho

In Borris yesterday, the haze of celebration was lifting, but only gradually and not to any particular schedule. Mount Leinster Rangers arrived back f(...)

Mount Leinster Rangers’ Paul Coady holds off the challenge of Lar Prendergast of Oulart-The Ballagh during yesterday’s Leinster club hurling final at Nowlan Park. Photograph: James Crombie/inpho

Mount Leinster Rangers 0-11 Oulart the Ballagh 0-8 With the season’s last breath, a closing verse that sang once again of the old game’s capac(...)

Keith Rossiter of Oulart The Ballagh is challenged by  Eoin Doyle and Barry Kehoe of Mount Leinster Rangers during the  AIB Leinster  club hurling final  at Nowlan Park in Kilkenny. Photograph: James Crombie/Inpho

Mount Leinster Rangers 0-11 Oulart The Ballagh 0-8: Mount Leinster Rangers became the first Carlow side to win a Leinster club hurling title as they a(...)

Mount Leinster Rangers 1-17 Ballyboden St Enda’s 3-9: Mount Leinster Rangers caused a sensational upset in accounting for Dublin giants Ballyboden and(...)

Mt Leinster Rangers 1-15 Castletown Geoghegan 1-13Carlow champions Mount Leinster Rangers came from six points down late in the first half to eke out (...)