Referendum Commission established


Minister for the Environment Phil Hogan today made an order under the Referendum Act 1998 establishing the Referendum Commission.

The Chief Justice has nominated the Miss Justice Mary Finlay Geoghegan as commission chairwoman.

The other members of the commission are Comptroller and Auditor General Seamus McCarthy, Ombudsman Emily O’Reilly, Clerk of the Dáil Kieran Coughlan and Clerk of the Seanad Deirdre Lane.

The commission is an independent statutory tasked with preparing a statement containing a general explanation of the referendum proposal which will be distributed to the electorate. It will also promote awareness of the referendum and encourage the electorate to vote.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.