Pietersen omitted from T20 squad


Cricket:England have left Kevin Pietersen out of their World Twenty20 squad as his future involvement is "still being determined", according to national selector Geoff Miller.

The 32-year-old was dropped for the final Test against South Africa after admitting sending "provocative" text messages to members of the opposition.

That made his participation in the three-match NatWest International T20 Series against the tourists and the forthcoming World T20 in Sri Lanka next month unlikely and his omission has been confirmed by the England and Wales Cricket Board.

"Kevin Pietersen's future involvement is still being determined and he was therefore not considered for selection in either squad," said Miller in announcing the squads.

The squad to face South Africa also sees Twenty20 captain Stuart Broad rested ahead of his leadership duties in Sri Lanka.

Pietersen was available for selection for both squads having reversed his decision to retire from all forms of international limited-overs cricket.

He was one of the stars of the team which won the last edition of the world 20-over event - England's first success in a major global tournament - in the Caribbean two years ago.

All players in the T20 squad have already been capped for England, with Luke Wright and Michael Lumb both return for the first time since June 2011.

"The T20 squad mirrors the squad we have selected for the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka and the three-match NatWest series provides this group of players with valuable preparation in what will be a highly-competitive series ahead of the tournament starting in September," added Miller.

While Broad has been left out of the five-match NatWest ODI Series against the Proteas, Essex all-rounder Ravi Bopara has been given an additional match to improve his sharpness with a guest appearance for Gloucestershire in their match against the tourists.

"Stuart has an important period coming up leading our T20 side and with a three-match series followed closely by the ICC World T20 we feel a two-week break from cricket is in the best interests of both Stuart and the team," explained Miller. "We are grateful to both Essex and Gloucestershire for agreeing to allow Ravi Bopara to play for Gloucestershire against South Africa on Wednesday.

"Ravi has had some time away from the game and we feel that he will benefit from some extra cricket ahead of the start of the NatWest Series, and with no games for Essex before we begin our preparations for the first match this is an ideal opportunity for him. All players in the 14-man NatWest ODI Series squad were involved in the recent series victory against Australia.

"We will be looking for this side to build on the recent success we have had and to show further signs of improvement against a strong South Africa side."

The first one-day international is on Friday at Cardiff, followed by matches at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton, the Oval, Lord's and Trent Bridge.

Durham hosts the first Twenty20 game on September 8 with the series also visiting Old Trafford and Edgbaston.

England squad for ICC World Twenty20:Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)(captain), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Luke Wright (Sussex).

England NatWest ODI Series squad:Alastair Cook (Essex) (captain), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

NatWest International T20 squad:Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire) (captain), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Luke Wright (Sussex)

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.