McGrath goal gives Tipp the edge


Noel McGrath’s goal proved to be the decisive score as Tipperary beat Cork by a solitary point in what was a thrilling Munster hurling championship semi-final at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Tipperary will now face Waterford in next month’s Munster decider, while Cork will now have to make their way through the qualifiers if they are to realise their All-Ireland ambitions.

Cork took an early lead thanks to points from Pat Horgan, Jamie Coughlan and Paudie O’Sullivan but Pa Bourke and Noel McGrath scores kept Tipperary within touching distance throughout the first half.

Patrick 'Bonner' Maher was Tipperary’s main focus of attack but Cork captain Horgan kept pointing to ensure that the Rebels held a half-time lead of 0-14 to 0-12.

The introduction of Lar Corbett shortly before half-time appeared to give Tipperary more of a goal-threat and when the goal did arrive he had a hand in the build-up, before Noel McGrath smashed the ball into the Cork net to put Tipperary in front.

Just as Tipperary appeared to be gaining momentum John O’Brien was sent off for a needless second bookable offence. Cork substitute Cian McCarthy then reduced the arrears to two points but in the final minutes was guilty of firing a goal-scoring chance wide of the target, allowing Tipperary to hold on for victory.

In Ulster, the margin of victory was the same as Down staged a remarkable second-half comeback to reach their first Ulster final since 2003.

Monaghan dominated the first half at the Athletic Grounds, with Paul Finlay and Conor McManus scoring the majority of Monaghan’s 11 first-half points.

Only a penalty late in the first half kept Down in the game. Conor Laverty was brought down clumsily by Vinny Corey which allowed Aidan Carr to net the resulting penalty.

Despite the penalty conversion Down still trailed Monaghan on a score-line of 0-11 to 1-2 at the break.

Down emerged for the second half with a wind advantage and a vigour that had been lacking during their first half display.

Laverty was Monaghan’s tormentor in chief and when Benny Coulter scored with his first touch having been sprung from the bench, the improbable comeback began to look possible.

Aidan Carr levelled with a free-kick on the 45 metre line before Darren O’Hagan fisted the winning point over on 70 minutes.

Mayo easily reached the Connacht football championship final by crushing Leitrim at McHale Park. The final score saw Mayo win comfortably on a score-line of 4-20 to 0-10. Mayo’s goals were scored by Alan Freeman, Andy Moran (2) and Kevin McLaughlin.


Munster senior hurling championship semi-final

Cork 0-24 Tipperary 1-22

Connacht senior football championship semi-final

Mayo 4-20 Leitrim 0-10

Ulster senior football Championship semi-final

Down 1-14 Monaghan 1-13

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.