Denmark crowned Eurovision champions

Ireland’s Ryan Dolan says contest was ‘life-changing experience’ despite disappointment


Denmark has won the Eurovision Song Contest for the third time, with the Celtic-tinged anthem Only Teardrops.

In a shock result, Ireland finished last with only five points.

Emmelie de Forest topped the votes with 281 points, followed by Azerbaijan with 234 points. Ukraine, Norway and Russia made up the top five.

Winning entry

Ireland's Ryan Dolan

Denmark last won the song contest in 2000 with the Olsen Brothers’ Fly on the Wings of Love.

Despite the disappointment, Ireland’s Ryan Dolan said it had been a life-changing experience.

“Unfortunately luck just wasn’t on our side tonight,” he said after the results were announced. “Obviously, it’s really disappointing, but I feel I gave it my best shot and I had an amazing team behind me every step of the way.”

The last time Ireland fell to the bottom of the Eurovision scoreboard was in 2007 with Dervish’s song They Can’t Stop the Spring. As Dolan and his backup group gave a strong performances of Only Love Survives in the grand final, and the song rated amongst the top 12 songs with both bookmakers and fans, it will take some reflection and analysis to understand what led to this disappointing result.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.