Behind the headlines

About this collection

Left to right: Aoife Valentine, Ronan Buten and Emer Sugrue

Left to right: Aoife Valentine, Ronan Buten and Emer Sugrue


Among the contributors to the class of 2013 are three winners of this year’s National Student Media Awards.

Aoife Valentine (left), studying law at University College Dublin, and Emer Sugrue (right), studying history and politics, are coeditors of the University Observer. They won the Editor of the Year award.

Rónán Burtenshaw (centre), studying geography and politics at Trinity College Dublin, is editor of Trinity News, which won Newspaper of the Year.

Éna Brennan, whose illustration appears on this page, is studying for an MPhil in music composition at Trinity and is art director of Trinity News.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.