This year’s Dublin Fringe award winners

The 2013 Dublin Fringe Festival closed yesterday, with the announcement of this year’s award winners. And the winners are . . .


Best Production – €750
Presented by the Dublin Fringe Festival to the show or event that displays excellence in every area of production.
Winner: Lippy (Dead Centre)
Other Nominees: Thirteen, Dolls, Sanctuary

Best Design – €500
This award is for outstanding lighting, set, sound, costume and/or graphic design.
Winner: Lippy (Overall design)
Other Nominees: Briefs (costume design); Thirteen (site-specific design); Chaosmos (mask and costume design); Landscape II (sound and video)

Spirit of the Fringe Commissioning Award – €5,000
This award combines a commission to present work in Project Arts Centre in next year’s Dublin Fringe, along with €5,000 to get the show up and running.
Winner: Way Back Home (Louise White)
Other Nominees: Boys and Girls, Sanctuary, Rites of Passage, Deep

Bewleys Café Theatre Little Gem Award – €2,000
This award is for the most exciting show under an hour in length at this year’s Dublin Fringe Festival. The prize is a two-week run at Bewley’s Café Theatre in the following year with €2,000 for remount production costs.
Winner: Swing (Janet Moran and Steve Blount)
Other Nominees: Small Plastic Wars, Postscript, Beowulf: The Blockbuster, Lambo

Best Male Performer – €500
Winner: Ray Scannel (Deep)
Other Nominees: Thomas Reilly (Thirteen), Steve Blount (Swing), Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh (Rites of Passage), Rex Ryan (The Birthday Man), Taylor Mac (A 20th-Century Concert: Abridged)

Best Female Performer – €500
Winner: Genevieve Hulme-Beaman (Pondling)
Other nominees: Caitriona Ennis (Thirteen), Janet Moran (Swing), Nic Green (Fatherland), Rosanna Purcell (War of Attrition)

Fishamble New Writing Award
Presented to the best play by a new or emerging Irish (or Irish-based) playwright premiered during Dublin Fringe Festival. This award includes a scholarship place on one of Fishamble’s playwriting courses, dramaturgical support and a stipend towards the playwright’s next play.
Winner: Boys and Girls (Dylan Coburn Gray)
Other Nominees: Lippy, Pondling, Postscript

The Next Stage Wild Card
An award for one artist to take up a place on The Next Stage, an artist development programme run by Theatre Forum in association with Dublin Theatre Festival.
Winner: Aisling Murray (Fair Balls T’Yis)

First Fortnight Award
This award is given to a show that challenges stigma prejudice about mental-health issues. The winner is given a run at the First Fortnight Mental Health Arts Festival in January 2014.
Winner: Dolls (Sorcha Kenny)
Other Nominees: Small Plastic Wars, David O’Doherty Will Try to Fix Everything, Confusion Boats, Record (Remix)

The judges for this year’s Dublin Fringe Festival were: Lian Bell, Linda Geraghty, Craig Flaherty, Raelene Casey, Andrew Griffin, Max Laroussi, Dave Smith, Dara Mac Domhnaill, Julie Blakeney, Róisín McGann, Joanna Derkaczew, David Keegan, Kerry O’Sullivan and Una Mullally.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
The account details entered are not currently associated with an Irish Times subscription. Please subscribe to sign in to comment.
Comment Sign In

Forgot password?
The Irish Times Logo
Thank you
You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.
The Irish Times Logo
Screen Name Selection


Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

The Irish Times Logo
Commenting on The Irish Times has changed. To comment you must now be an Irish Times subscriber.
Forgot Password
Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.