Patricia Kopatchinskaja (violin), Frankfurt Radio SO, Ensemble Modern/Peter Eötvös


Violin concertos by Bartók, Eötvös and Ligeti ****

If you didn’t already know Moldovan violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja as a feisty and fearless performer from her appearances in Dublin and Bantry, you’d know it pretty quickly from her handling of Bartók’s Second Violin Concerto. She approaches the work, written in 1938, with the technical tools and hindsight of the present, but in a way that’s anything but heavy-handed. There’s an athleticism and feline grace that always command attention. She makes Ligeti’s wonderfully unpredictable late Violin Concerto (which includes the sounds of ocarinas and swanee whistle) sound fully her own, and relishes the challenges of Eötvös’s Seven, an impassioned, cadenza-rich memorial for the Columbia astronauts.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.