Najihakim: Sakskø-Bing Praeludier; Chamber Concertos 1&2;organ Concerto No4


Naji Hakim (organ), Danish Chamber PlayersSignum Classics SIGCD296 ***

Beirut-born French organist Naji Hakim, Messiaen’s successor at La Trinité in Paris, is also, like Messiaen, a composer, though of an entirely different cut. The four works here are a visit to a world you thought had disappeared. The Sakskøbing Preludier, based on a selection of Danish “hymns for our time,” are a kind of light music that would have been downmarket from Poulenc in the 1950s.

The chamber concertos are in the same general vein, with some Eastern colouring in the first. But there’s a vim in the Fourth Organ Concerto that’s lacking elsewhere, and an offbeat fairground brio in its finale. The performances are marred by some off-colour string intonation.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.