Aruánortiz/ Michael Janisch Quintet


 Banned in LondonWhirlwind ****

The title is a nod to Banned in New York, saxophonist Greg Osby’s lo-fi but highly influential “bootleg” of his own band burning down a Manhattanclub in 1998. This time Osby is honoured guest at a more hi-tech affair led by Cuban pianist Aruán Ortiz and US bassist Michael Janisch.

For what was destined to be one of the hits of last year’s London Jazz Festival, they summoned up their dream quintet with Osby, rising French-Catalan trumpeter Raynald Colom and hot New York drummer Rudy Royston. What followed was a masterclass in spontaneous combustion, with a first-rate group, and Royston in particular, incandescent on a mix of originals and standards, summoning the spirit of the legendary Miles Davis quintet of the 1960s, but taking it to a new part of the harmonic and rhythmic forest. aomjquin

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

Your Comments
We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.