Irish Book Awards shortlist announced

Colum McCann, Roddy Doyle, Frank McGuinness and first-time novelist Donal Ryan among writers on list

Writer Colum McCann photographed at Sandymount in Dublin. Photograph: Alan Betson/The Irish Times

Writer Colum McCann photographed at Sandymount in Dublin. Photograph: Alan Betson/The Irish Times

Fri, Nov 1, 2013, 09:26

Novelist Donal Ryan is among the writers shortlisted for this year’s Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards.

The writer is listed not for his Booker-longlisted novel The Spinning Heart, but for The Thing About December - written before but published after it.

Also on the list published yesterday are Roddy Doyle, Frank McGuinness and Colum McCann.

Memoirs on the shortlist include books by comedian and actor Jennifer Saunders, commentator Eamon Dunphy, former Kilkenny hurling star DJ Carey and Irish rugby player Johnny Sexton.

Fiction by Patricia Scanlan, Claudia Carroll, Cathy Kelly and RTÉ journalist Rachael English is also nominated.

The Short Story of the Year is a new category in this year’s Irish Book Awards - the eighth year of the event. The awards were open to any title published between November 1st last year and October 31st 2013.

The list is as follows:

Eason Novel of the Year

Arimathea by Frank McGuinness (Brandon Books/O’Brien Press)

The Guts by Roddy Doyle (Jonathan Cape)

The Things We Know Now by Catherine Dunne (Pan Macmillan)

Transatlantic by Colum McCann (Bloomsbury Publishing)

The Thing About December by Donal Ryan (Doubleday Ireland/Lilliput)

This Is The Way by Gavin Corbett (Fourth Estate)

International Education Services Ltd Popular Fiction Book of the Year:

Downturn Abbey by Ross O’Carroll-Kelly (Penguin Ireland)

Mad About You by Sinead Moriarty (Penguin Ireland)

With All My Love by Patricia Scanlan (Simon and Schuster)

The Honey Queen by Cathy Kelly (HarperCollins)

Me and You by Claudia Carroll (Avon Books, Harper Collins)

A Gift to Remember by Melissa Hill (Simon and Schuster)

Non-Fiction Book of the Year

The Rocky Road by Eamon Dunphy (Penguin Ireland)

Fatal Path by Ronan Fanning (Faber and Faber)

Growing Up So High by Sean O’Connor (Hachette Ireland)

Staring At Lakes: A Memoir Of Love, Melancholy and Magical Thinking by Michael Harding (Hachette Ireland)

The Famine Plot by Tim Pat Coogan (Palgrave Macmillan)

Price Of Power: Inside Ireland’s Crisis Coalition by Pat Leahy (Penguin Ireland)

Ireland AM Crime Fiction Book of the Year

The Twelfth Department by William Ryan (Pan Macmillan/Mantle)

The Convictions Of John Delahunt by Andrew Hughes (Doubleday Ireland)

The Doll’s House by Louise Phillips (Hachette Ireland)

Inquest by Paul Carson (Century)

The Stranger You Know by Jane Casey (Ebury Press)

Irregulars by Kevin McCarthy (New Island Books)

The Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

Ghost Moth by Michele Forbes (Orion)

Going Back by Rachael English (Orion)

The Gamal by Ciaran Collins (Bloomsbury)

The Herbalist by Niamh Boyce (Penguin Ireland)

Young Skins by Colin Barrett (The Stinging Fly Press)