Experience and precocity on the Poetry Now shortlist

Contemporary Irish poetry is doing well, as the breadth of work up for the Irish Times Poetry Now award demonstrates

The five poets shortlisted for The Irish Times Poetry Now award are, clockwise from top left,  Nick Laird, Conor O’Callaghan, Tara Bergin, Billy Ramsell and Sinéad Morrissey

The five poets shortlisted for The Irish Times Poetry Now award are, clockwise from top left, Nick Laird, Conor O’Callaghan, Tara Bergin, Billy Ramsell and Sinéad Morrissey

Wed, Jul 23, 2014, 10:36

There is a poem of sorts on the flyleaf of Nick Laird’s new poetry collection, Go Giants. “Poetry,” he writes, “they’re pretty sure you’re not worth knowing, fit for nothing, broken; that any mystery in language perfected by your music’s just a mockery, a joke.”

For the non-believer, the uninitiated, poetry is “a pimped-out, souped-up pussy-magnet”, “as outmoded as the nose flute”. For Laird, however, it is “a juncture of the two kinds of real . . . an ambiguous exactitude . . . the flawed compensation for our just having the one go”.

This untitled almost-verse is Laird’s manifesto and it is an apt introduction to a collection that is contemporary in form and mythic in reach; a collection that sees grandeur in everyday gestures; one that worships the world as it is.

Laird is one of the five poets shortlisted for this year’s Irish Times Poetry Now prize, organised in association with Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council. However, in the diverse collections being celebrated this year, each poet makes his or her own case for contemporary poetry; that “having the one go” is more than worthwhile. From the intimate domesticity of Tara Bergin’s This Is Yarrow to the more publicly engaged dialogue of Conor O’Callaghan’s The Sun King, there is a richness of beauty and experiment that speaks well of the state of contemporary Irish poetry.


Open competition

There were 28 collections by Irish poets up for consideration for this year’s prize, an open competition that invites publishers to submit new publications. This makes for a thoroughly democratic and inclusive long list. This year, for example, poets as prolific as Paul Muldoon were being considered alongside newcomers.

The shortlist includes a debut collection (Bergin’s) and one by a previous award-winner, Sinéad Morrissey. Her Parallax won the TS Eliot Prize for Poetry in 2013. From the sage position of poetic fluency to the raw freshness of a new voice, this breadth of experience and precocity was something the judges found to be worth celebrating. The winner will be announced during the Mountains to Sea DLR Book Festival on September 13th.

The three-piece judging panel for 2013 comprised two poets, Katie Donovan and Nessa O’Mahony, and Chris Morash, the Seamus Heaney professor of Irish writing at Trinity College Dublin. Donovan is a veteran judge of poetry competitions as well as a poet. She says judging a collection, rather than individual poems, can be a challenge. “A poem is itself a universe,” she says, but a collection of poems is not just “a series of well-achieved poems”. It must read “as a single entity, so that one wants to keep reading, for more surprises, more connections, more high jumps”.

Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email to verify your account.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 3 days from the date of publication.
From Monday 20th October 2014 we're changing how readers sign-in to comment, click here for more information.