Donald Clarke

Whingeing about cinema and real life since 2009

The Galway Film Fleadh Awards are in

It was another impressive year at the Fleadh. I will hold fire before going into too much detail about the pictures because a full report is to appear in The Irish Times on Tuesday. But I was impressed by Ciaran …

Sun, Jul 15, 2012, 20:29


It was another impressive year at the Fleadh. I will hold fire before going into too much detail about the pictures because a full report is to appear in The Irish Times on Tuesday. But I was impressed by Ciaran Foy’s Citadel, a top notch horror, and Gerard Barrett’s very touching Pilgrim Hill (both of which were honoured). The awards are printed in full below. Apologies for the slightly whacky formatting. But, not having a week to organise this post, I have cut and pasted from the press release. Next year, is the Fleadh’s 25th incarnation. So, we fully expect a riot of partying on that occasion.


Features Audience Awards:


The Best Irish Feature Award:


Second place: Stalker

Director: Mark O Connor

Producer: TJ O Grady Peyton


Winner: Good Vibrations

Director : Glenn Lyburn, Lisa Barros D’Sa

Producer : Chris Martin, Andrew Eaton, David Holmes


Best International Feature


Second Place: Baikonur

Director: Veit Helmer


Winner: The Parade

Director: Srdjan Dragojevic

Producer: Biljana Prvanovic


The Best First Irish Feature


Joint award:

Winner: Citadel

Director: Ciaran Foy

Producer : Katie Holly & Brian Coffey


Winner: Earthbound

Director : Alan Brennan

Producer: Heidi Karin Madsen, Jacqueline Kerrin, Dominic Wright


The Best International First Feature


In Second Place: In the Family

Director: Patrick Wang


Winner: Perfect Stranger

Directed: Toni Bestard


Best Irish Feature Documentary


Second Place: Lon Sa Speir

Director: Sean O Cualain

Producer: Eamonn O Cualain


Winner: Natural Grace

Director: Art O Briain

Producer:Art O Briain, Aileen McDonagh


Best International Feature Documentary


Second Place: The Swell Season

Director: Nick August-Perna, Chris Dapkins, Carlo Mirabella-Davis


Winner: Four Horsemen

Director: Ross Ashcroft

Producer: Megan Ashcroft


The Galway Film Fleadh Pitching Award


Winner: Hannah Patterson for RESISTANCE


The Bingham Ray New Talent Award in association with Magnolia Pictures presented by Annabelle Ray



Directed by: Gerard Barrett

Produced by: Gerard Barrett




Frank Stapleton


Isabelle Huppert


30 Minute Film Festival Judges Award


Winner:  Alan Travers

Director: Stop Motion Biscuit Cake


Winner: Here To Fall

Director: Kris Kelly

Producer: Evelyn McGrath


Special Mention: Learning to Fish

Director: Teemu Auersalo

Producer: Nicky Gogan


The Huston School of Film and Digital Media’s Cinema, Human Right and Advocacy Award is presented to the film that shows the importance of cinema as a means of raising awareness about human right issues presented by Dee Quinn


Winner: Give Up Tomorrow

Directed: Michael Collins


The Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a short film


James Mather for The Hatch




The James Horgan Award for Best Animation in association with Telegael


Special Mention: Irish Folk Furniture

Director: Tony Donoghue

Producer: Cathal Black



Winner:  Fear of Flying

Director: Conor Finnegan

Producer: Brunella Cocchigila


The Tiernan McBride Award for Best Short Drama in association with Network Ireland Television presented by Derry O’Brien


Special Mention: Joy

Director: Colm Quinn

Producer: Neil Wallace, Emmet Fleming


Winner: The Girl with the Mechanical Maiden

Director:  Andrew Legge

Producer:  Ciara Whelan


Cartoon Saloon Best First Animation Award


Winner:  Head Over Heels

Director: Timothy Reckart

Producer: Fodhla Cronin O’ Reilly


The Best First Short Drama in association with Mazars presented by Paul Mee


Winner: Toy Soldiers

Director: Mike Hayes

Producer: Ciara Gillan


The Best Short Documentary Award in association with Teach Solas


Special Mention: Off the Board

Director: Siobhan Perry

Producer: Roisin Linnie


Special Mention: Saving Turf

Director: Gearoid Hayes

Producer: Gearoid Hayes


Winner: The Hood and the Collar

Director: Paddy Hayes

Producer: Ciara Ni Chormaic




Sign In

Forgot Password?

Sign Up

The name that will appear beside your comments.

Have an account? Sign In

Forgot Password?

Please enter your email address so we can send you a link to reset your password.

Sign In or Sign Up

Thank you

You should receive instructions for resetting your password. When you have reset your password, you can Sign In.

Hello, .

Please choose a screen name. This name will appear beside any comments you post. Your screen name should follow the standards set out in our community standards.

Thank you for registering. Please check your email for the activation code.

We reserve the right to remove any content at any time from this Community, including without limitation if it violates the Community Standards. We ask that you report content that you in good faith believe violates the above rules by clicking the Flag link next to the offending comment or by filling out this form. New comments are only accepted for 10 days from the date of publication.