• -
  • irishtimes.com - Posted: January 16, 2013 @ 5:07 pm

    Theatre Forum’s public vote for the Irish Times Theatre Awards

    Laurence Mackin

    On Saturday, we revealed the short list for this year’s Irish Times Theatre Awards, and the three judges – Sinéad Mac Aodha, Damian Downes and John Fairleigh – gave a little bit of detail on how they’ve arrived at their final few.

    The smart folk over at Theatre Forum Ireland have put our shortlist up on their site for a public vote – this vote has nothing to do with the awards themselves (this isn’t poX-factor after all), and will not affect the final vote. But it was really interesting last year to see how the final votes tallied up with the judges’ verdict – in the end, Theatre Forum’s public vote matched our judges’ decisions more than 50 per cent of the time. Of the 13 categories, seven of the Theatre Forum picks were the same as the actual winners.

    Cillian Murphy wins last year’s Best Actor award for Misterman

    Another category that is well worth answering is the last one, which asks if there are any other new awards that should be introduced. New categories are always being discussed, as are changes that could be made to the awards themselves, so all suggestions are gratefully received. Personally, I’d like to see an award for best ensemble cast and a seperate category for dance. And a category for best occassional theatrical blogger whose name begins with L. With a prize. A very large cash prize.

Search Pursued by a Bear